When Automotive Obscurity Goes Mainstream

I spent the better part of high school, college and my initial years in the military regarded as a nerd. And that’s just fine… it’s who I am. Honestly my love of cars was probably the only thing that kept me one foot out of full-fledged nerdom. My vast collection of old game systems, knowledge of video game history and ability to quote almost any movie kept my other foot in. And I loved it.

One thing I follow other than cars is movie news. That’s where this article comes in… the movie Cars. While browsing IGN.com I came across an article talking about the level of darkness attributed to Cars 3 its subsequent trailers. About half way down the page, however, I cam across this gem… concept art.

conceptart

Source: IGN.com

Now apart from the typical 40’s Ford coupe and 50’s Dodge pickup what do you think the car on the far left is? Some would argue it is a Packard and judging by the paint scheme they’re probably right. But the cars universe obeys no laws and it may just be a Tucker 48. Now We’ve seen this car in movies before, specifically a little film by Franky Ford Coppola called Tucker: The Man and His Dream.

51JYWW7A9ZL._SY300_

Source: Amazon.com

I’m not going to go into the history of Tucker but you should look it up. Suffice to say the Tucker ’48 had only 51 examples produced but its heart (engine) was in the right place. The back.

1948_Tucker_Torpedo_8511815871.jpg

Source: Wikipedia

Part of me wishes Hollywood loved obscure cars more, but would that be a double-edged sword? The wonderment of an obscure auto is that not many people know of it and when you discover it the joy is just tremendous. Jason Torchinsky, of Jalopnik fame and my personal hero, has pretty much made a living uncovering obscure cars and writing about them. More importantly he and his cult of followers have uncovered some of the most random and rare VW anomalies of the aircooled era.

I’m pleased that Hollywood embraces the Tucker time and again. I’m more pleased that obscure car culture hasn’t ballooned like the nerd revolution in the wake of The Big Bang Theories’ success. I like operating in the world of kitsch. Society stole my nerdom and that’s alright. I do have to try harder to convince people I knew about E.T. on the Atari and its second life in a landfill long before the pop culture documentary. But it does make cool t-shirts easier to find.

maxresdefault

Source: BringATrailer.com

Lord help them if they take my obscure autos.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Source: Wikipedia

One thought on “When Automotive Obscurity Goes Mainstream

  1. Hiya very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m glad to search out a lot of helpful info here in the put up, we need develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

